Game mechanics

By SiriusAshlingSiriusAshling Last updated

This guide explains how to use the game's mechanics for speedrunning purposes.




The game is structured into 17 maps.
- 1-3: Act 1 (Blue Goblet)
- 4-6: Act 2 (Green Goblet)
- 7-9: Act 3 (Main Game completion)
- 10-17: Orb

For a speedrun you always want to progress forward through the maps. Later maps give better loot, so you don't want to go backwards.



Each map has a number of floors and will always have the same enemy encounters.
Enemies come in two variants which are randomly chosen from: One variant with more and one with less health. Kill the enemies with less health first, they deal more damage.



Enemies drop loot. Stronger enemies will drop stronger loot, although there are some more complicated rules to this.
For speedrunning Damage and Attack Speed are the most valuable stats on Loot since they will kill the enemies faster. Especially swords and gloves with +x% damage are very valuable.
Loot comes in different colors, higher colors mean stronger loot. The order is:
Black < Blue < Green < Red < Orange < White (although there can be exceptions with red)



You can hold down S over your items to quickly dismantle everything you don't want to equip and get Forge rewards.
Sometimes the Forge will give you items. How good these items will be depends on the strongest enemy you have ever defeated.
If you just finished a map, it can be valuable to enter the next map one time before redeeming an item reward from the forge. Then you will have killed stronger enemies and gain better items.


Stat Points

You can upgrade your stats by defeating enough monsters or getting forge rewards.
Damage is the best stat, always upgrade it if you can.
During Act 1, your second choice is Max Life, since you start on very low health.
After Act 2, Attack Speed starts being valuable, but different strategies are viable as long as you max out Damage.


Skill Points

You get skill points by defeating enough monsters or getting forge rewards.
Spending them gives you very powerful abilities. Since there are so many possibilities on how to spend your skill points, this is the main factor routes revolve around.


Loot in detail

This is a more detailed explanation of how loot works. You don't have to know this if it seems intimidating, but it leads to some clever strategies.

- Each enemy has a level (stronger = higher level). Later maps always have higher level enemies than the previous one.
- If you kill an enemy, you get loot based on its level
- The game remembers the highest level enemy you have ever killed.
- If you kill an enemy, you have a 50% chance to get loot based on that strongest enemy's level instead of the one you killed (but never more than 5 levels above)
- This means that in rooms with enemies of different level you may want to kill the strong enemy first. Example: In Moon Forest, Floor 3 you face one big rootplant and four small mushroom enemies. If you kill the big rootplant (which has a higher level) first, all the small mushrooms you kill afterwards have a 50% chance to give you stronger loot.
- If you are on a floor you have beaten before and that isn't the final floor of the map, chances to get loot are halved
- Starting after the fifth item dropped in a map, getting loot becomes less likely with every dropped item.
This is also why you always want to move to the next map as soon as you can: the previous ones get "exhausted".

Latest News
View all
No news
Recent Threads
View all
Thread Author
Why is there no category for The Orb
Last post
2 replies
Last post
2 replies