SGDQ's schedule has a speedrun for everyone

With a packed schedule, SGDQ is coming to our screens July 4-10. We've picked a few highlights, but you cannot go wrong watching any of these awesome speedruns.

By Alice Pow

Filed Under: event

The schedule for Summer Games Done Quick 2021 is live and, as always, the week-long speedrunning marathon is packed with exciting runs to raise money for Doctors Without Borders. SGDQ will take place from July 4-11, 2021.

With such a packed schedule, you truly cannot go wrong watching any part of SGDQ. That said, here are just some of the runs to look out for this year.


Mega Man X - 100% -- SNES (Race) by Tiki, Darrenville, Luiz Miguel, and Clipper

Sunday, July 4 - 12:36 P.M. PT / 3:36 P.M. ET

Mega Man X is a GDQ staple but that does not mean we have seen it all. This race will showcase a new route, Chameleon 3rd which the runners say is, “an exciting route which maximizes strat execution and minimizes RNG.” The race will be a fun time for all.


Kirby Super Star - Any% -- SNES by Nippo

Sunday, July 4 - 2:25 P.M. PT / 5:25 P.M. ET

Everyone’s favorite pink hero from the planet Popstar will be making several appearances throughout SGDQ including this run which features some amusing shenanigans including one-hit KO mini-bosses and wall-clipping. Nippo and Kirby are sure to be entertaining.


Sundered - Resist% -- PC by JeviLevee

Monday, July 5 - 10:48 A.M. PT / 1:48 P.M. ET

Taking advantage of the game’s layered movement and combat mechanics, second-place runner JeviLevee will show off Sundered’s interesting interplay between Metroidvania and Roguelite mechanics while defying the will of an eldritch being. In this game, knowing the destination isn’t enough. Sundered runners need the quick thinking required to adapt to changing pathways.


Castlevania Block (plus Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night)

Tuesday, July 6 - 5:18 A.M. PT / 8:18 A.M. ET

Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night - Miriam Any% MG --PC by Bane (5:18 A.M. PT / 8:18 A.M. ET)

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow - Soma All Bosses -- DS by Diagon (5:53 A.M. PT / 8:53 A.M. ET)

Castlevania 64 - Reinhardt vs. Carrie bidwar — N64 by Ty2358 (6:49 A.M. PT / 9:49 A.M. ET)

Castlevania: Bloodlines - any% Eric Normal — Genesis by Mannix86 (7:46 A.M. PT / 10:46 A.M. ET)

Castlevania: Rondo of Blood - Any% — Wii VC by AgentWyvern (8:31 A.M. PT / 11:31 A.M. ET)

Castlevania - Any% Race — NES by 2snek, Freeland, and Shockra_tease (9:16 A.M. PT / 12:16 P.M. ET)

The Castlevania series (and its spiritual successor Bloodstained) are speedrunning favorites, and this block of incredible top-ranking runners playing titles from throughout the series is going to be a treat. Definitely a must-see.


Untitled Goose Game - 100% Co-op -- PC by Tasselfoot and Thundar001

Tuesday, July 6 - 9:39 P.M. PT / Wednesday, July 7 12:39 A.M. ET

Co-operative speedrunning takes a ridiculous amount of coordination and together these runners hold first place in this two-player category. Make sure to catch their chaotic romp through an English village as they terrorize NPCs and exploit glitches to give us a show.


Coca-Cola Kid - Any% — Game Gear (Race) by Sharif and Grumpmeister

Wednesday, July 7 - 3:27 A.M. PT / 6:27 A.M. ET

Coca-Cola kid is one of those weird license games that is already interesting for its oddness alone and the speedruns of this game are a treat to watch with the titular Coca-Cola Kid jumping and rushing through levels. Just two years ago the run was more than 40 minutes long, but Sharif and Grumpmeister have sub-12-minute times on the board. Do not miss this fast-paced race!


Ristar - Any% Race - Genesis by Chronoon, Lizstar, ShimeGabriel, and Haram_Scaram

Thursday, July 8 - 7:10 A.M. PT / 10:10 A.M. ET

Four top runners will face off to rush through this Genesis gem with plenty of fun tricks, tech, and skips throughout. It’s been two years since Ristar’s last appearance on the GDQ stage and this is a great chance to see how the run has evolved since then!


Sonic Block

Thursday, July 8 - 8:37 A.M. PT / 11:37 A.M. ET

Sonic Colors (DS) - All Red Rings — DS by Speedbreaker55 (8:37 A.M. PT / 11:37 A.M. ET.)

Sonic 3D Blast - Beat the Game 2 Players 1 Controller with TGH — Sega Genesis (Wii VC) by TGH and AmberCyprian (9:37 A.M. PT / 12:37 P.M. ET)

Sonic CD 1993 - Beat The Game — Sega CD by JoeyBaby69 (10:32 A.M. PT / 1:32 P.M. ET)

Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Hero Story vs Dark Story Bidwar — PC by Dage4 (11:07 A.M. PT / 2:07 P.M. ET)

Who could forget this past January when Sonic speedrunnners made history with GDQ’s first ever back-to-back record break. I guess we should expect it from runners of a franchise that’s already about going fast. The Sonic speedrun community is queued up for four runs on Thursday with a Sonic Heroes TAS showcase happening later on Friday.


Pokemon Black/White - Any% Black vs. White Race — Nintendo DS by PulseEffects and Swiftalu

Thursday, July 8 - 4:44 P.M. PT / 7:44 P.M. ET

It’s always fun to compare the different Pokemon versions in a generation and now is a chance to compare the fifth gen games side-by-side as PulseEffect plays Pokemon Black and Swiftalu plays Pokemon White. Which version will prevail this time?


Celeste Custom Maps - Glyph All A-Sides --PC by Frozenflygone

Friday, July 9 12:49 P.M. PT / 3:49 P.M. ET

Celeste runs are always full of visual spectacle, exciting movement tech, and tense gameplay. And the modding community is just as impressive with all kinds of cool custom maps. Frozenflygone is first on the leaderboard for this run so you know there is going to be some serious skill on display.


Spongebob’s Truth or Square - Any% -- Xbox 360 (Race) by Jaxler and BubbleBass

Friday, July 9 10:07 P.M. PT / Saturday, July 10 1:07 A.M. ET

Developed by the same studio behind the speedrunning icon, Battle for Bikini Bottom, this race will pit two top runners against one another as they skip entire levels and take the game’s physics to new heights (with spin boosts that give Spongebob a big vertical boost).


Storks and Apes and Crocodiles - 100% -- SNES by Superben

Friday, July 9 10:47 P.M. PT / Saturday, July 10 1:47 A.M. ET

There are plenty of cool Mario speedruns scheduled throughout SGDQ but don’t miss this Kaizo ROM hack of Super Mario World. Kaizo ROM hacks are notoriously difficult and often require near-perfect inputs, so the tensions will be high throughout the run!


Pokemon Emerald - any% Glitchless — Gamecube by AmoebaUK

Saturday, July 10 - 5:56 A.M. PT / 8:56 A.M. ET

In addition to the vast array of knowledge and adaptability that any Pokemon speedrun requires, Pokemon Emerald features the mach bike which allows for quick but dangerously tight movement through the overworld. Also, as AmoebaUK’s run submission notes, “It also uses Mudkip. People love Mudkip.” I couldn’t agree more.

Highlights from the end of ESA Summer 2021

ESA Summer 2021 wrapped up successfully, having collected more than $67,000 for charity. Let's take a look at some of the highlights in the final days of the event.

ESA Summer 2021 early highlights

ESA Summer 2021 has already featured some pretty incredible speedruns. We've selected some highlights here, covering the first half of the event.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 7-minute barrier broken

On July 22, 2021, Savestate broke the 7-minute barrier for the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Any% speedrun.

Runs at ESA Summer 2021 you don’t want to miss

ESA Summer 2021 gets underway on July 23. We've compiled a list of can't-miss speedruns from the week-long event that are sure to delight fans!

Insight into the mind of catalystz

Who is catalystz? He produces educational speedrunning content as well as being one of the world's best Dark Souls players. Check out our interview with this skilled speedrunning content creator!

Spotlight: FrozenFlygone

FrozenFlygone is a Celeste speedrunner who recently performed runs at SGDQ and Power Up With Pride. We spoke with her about speedrunning for our July Spotlight.

Final SGDQ 2021 Highlights

With SGDQ 2021 a wrap, we're taking one last opportunity to highlight some of our favorite events from the week-long speedrunning event.

Mid-week highlights for SGDQ 2021

Now midway through the event, SGDQ 2021 continues to deliver with memorable speedruns. Let's take a look at the highlights from the last couple of days.

Check if your runs are at risk due to a YouTube policy change

On July 23rd, your runs may become unavailable on Speedrun.com due to a YouTube policy change.

Early highlights from SGDQ 2021

Summer Games Done Quick 2021 got underway July 4 and runs through July 11. We've compiled some early highlights from the first three days of the event. Let's take a look!

How Dead Space Speedrunners cut their runs in half

Ahead of Dead Space's debut at SGDQ, let's take a look at the tech that allowed speedrunners to reduce their run times by half.

Glitch Hunting: What is it and how do you do it?

Glitch Hunting is an important activity within speedrunning — but what is it, *exactly*? And how can you get started?

Pride Month Speedrunners Spotlight

For Pride Month, we spoke with three talented LGBTQIA+ streamers about their experiences with speedrunning.

E3 2021: 8 Indie Titles for Speedrunners

E3 2021 introduced us to many intriguing new games. Today, we're taking a look at eight Indie titles that look promising for speedruns.

Lifeslide: speedrunning as a paper plane

An indie title that was on display at E3, Lifeslide's simple concept supports both a zen gameplay experience and a challenging speedrun opportunity.

Coming soon: Severed Steel, an FPS for speedrunners

Sitting down with the developer of Severed Steel, we learned how this game is built for speedrunning.

E3 2021: Top 8 AAA titles for speedrunners

E3 loaded up our wishlists with AAA titles full of speedrunning potential, including Elden Ring and Dying Light 2, among others! Here are some highlights expected to be released in 2021 and 2022.

How DOOM speedrunners skip the Praetor Suit

The Praetor Suit and accompanying cutscene were one of the last major slow points to overcome for DOOM speedrunning. This is the story of how it was solved.

Power Up With Pride, an Un-BEE-lievable Hit

Power Up With Pride 2021 was a success with plenty of entertaining speedruns, including new World Records, and an incredibly wholesome Community Segment.

Days Gone: speedrunning a game port

A PC port for Days Gone was recently released. Let's take a look at what impact a port has on the game's speedrunning community.

Power Up With Pride 2021: 5 years strong

Look no farther for a good way to spend the first weekend of June: Power Up With Pride kicks off the month with a charity speedrunning marathon.

Speedrun Embargoes

Have you ever been excited to speedrun a new game but discovered there's an embargo on speedruns? Let's talk about embargoes, what they mean, and how they can be helpful!

SGDQ's schedule has a speedrun for everyone

With a packed schedule, SGDQ is coming to our screens July 4-10. We've picked a few highlights, but you cannot go wrong watching any of these awesome speedruns.

Submitting to Speedrunning Marathons

Submitting to a run to a speedrunning marathon can be an intimidating process. We've got some advice to make the most of your application!

Spotlight: Coldeggman and Animal Crossing

What's the longest speedrun you've ever done? This month's Spotlight focuses on Coldeggman who recently completed a speedrun that took more than 26 days. That's dedication, folks!

Speedrunning games in a series

When a new game is released in a series, what can speedrunners take away from speedruns of earlier titles?

mralberto23 broke three Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD barriers

In a flurry of broken records, mralberto23 has put his mark on the Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD leaderboards.

Break the Record Live highlights

This past weekend, Break the Record Live gave us hours of Minecraft speedrunning with serious prize money on the line. Let's review some of the event's highlights!

1 2